SMU Huskies

Karakostas and Alleyne, named SMU’s top Athletes

Karakostas and Alleyne, named SMU’s top Athletes

Halifax, NS – Saint Mary's University Department of Athletics & Recreation, announced their award winners at the annual year end awards night as a finale to the 18/19 varsity season. 

First year soccer midfielder, Anelise Karakostas (Victoria, BC) and fifth year basketball guard, Kemar Alleyne (Scarborough, ON) concluded the evening as the Male and Female Athlete of the Year.

As a freshmen, Anelise started every game this season and rarely (if ever) came off the field.  She was a 2nd team AUS All-Star and USPORTS All-Rookie. It goes without saying that she played well beyond her years and scored 2 game winners this season.  She was the offensive spark and gave her team what they needed to fight to make the playoffs.  She delivered game in and game out, did whatever it took to make her team better and was the key reason for the team's success in 2018.


Fifth year guard, Kemar Alleyne, led by example for five years and always put the teams interests above his own. This season he was chosen by basketball coaches as the AUS league MVP.  He was a key reason for the Huskies success this season, remaining ranked #5 in the country through the season.  He was also named a U Sport first team All-Canadian.


In the other major award categories, Josie Gascoigne (basketball) and Liam O'Brien (football), were named recipients of the male and female President's Award, representing athletic/academic excellence. 

The outstanding rookie recipients were Nicholas Welsh (hockey) and Olivia Bell (volleyball).  Welsh finished the season leading the AUS defensemen and rookie scoring with 6 goals, 23 assists, for a total of 29 points. He is a remarkable talent with amazing poise and vision. He was named a 2nd team U Sport All-Canadian and was named to the U Sport All-rookie team.  

First year middle, Olivia Bell, was named the AUS Rookie of the Year and named to the U Sports All-rookie team.  She started in all 20 matches and played 68 sets for the Huskies. 

Team MVP's winners:

Men's Hockey – Hunter Garlent

Women's Hockey – Shae Demale

Women's Soccer – Jamie Kennedy & Anelise Karakostas

Men's Soccer – Christian Oxner

Rugby – Maggie MacPhee

Women's Basketball – Alaina McMillan

Men's Basketball – Kemar Alleyne

Football – Kaleb Scott

Volleyball – Lindsay Donovan & Emilla Conlon

Cross Country / Track & Field – Bhreagh Burke & Andrew Peverill


Other winners:

Dr. David Petrie Award (outstanding student therapist) - Megan Kelly and Jenn Marando

Vern Creighton Award (manager of the year) – Mike Fines, Hockey

John Jones Award (Unsung Hero) – Leandra Timmerman, Hockey