SMU Huskies

AUS Championships - Andrew Peverill named Athlete of the Year

AUS Championships - Andrew Peverill named Athlete of the Year

(Fredericton, NB) The 2019 Subway AUS Cross Country Championships were hosted Saturday at the Kingswood Resort by the UNB Reds.

Third year athlete, Andrew Peverill, was named AUS Athlete of the Year after capturing the individual title in the men's race. Peverill characteristically went hard to the front of the pack and never looked back, leading start to finish. Peverill finished in a time of 25:18 over the 8km distance, 22 seconds ahead of 2nd place Paul MacLellan of St.FX. Jacob Benoit of St.FX rounded out the top 3 in a time of 25:45.

"I felt great," said Peverill. "It was a fun run, it was great having the crowd out there and this is something I've been chasing for a little bit, so it's nice to finally get it."

Second year student-athlete, Joe Stewart, had an excellent race placing 19th overall in a time of 27:00.

On the women's side, 2nd year athlete Bhreagh Burke, ran "one of the gutsiest performances that I have witnessed over my years of coaching cross country" according to head coach Kevin Heisler.

One of Burke's spikes slipped off within the first kilometre of the race, she stopped to put it back on, only to have it fall off minutes later. At this point, she had fallen back to 25th place. She then took the other shoe off and ran the last 6km of the race barefoot. Battling all the way back, Burke finished in 10th place in a time of 31:58 over the 8km race.

Jade Roberts of the Memorial Seahawks won in 30:23 and was named AUS Athlete of the Year. Jane Hergett of St.FX (30:43) and Catherine Thompson (30:51) of Dalhousie rounded out the top 3 finishers.

The Huskies men's team finished 4th position overall and the women's team finished 6th position overall, with the Dalhousie Tigers winning both the men's and women's AUS team titles.

The Huskies will now be represented by Andrew Peverill, Bhreagh Burke and Joe Stewart at the U Sports Cross Country Championships on November 9th in Kingston, Ontario. The event will be held at Fort Henry National Historic Site, hosted by Queens University. Best of luck to these three athletes!


Subway AUS Cross Country Championship Results:





AUS Women's Cross Country:

  • Athlete of the Year:  Jade Roberts, Memorial
  • Rookie of the Year:  Lauren Lowther, Dalhousie
  • Student-Athlete Community Service Award:  Madalyn Higgins, Acadia
  • Coach of the Year:  Rich Lehman, Dalhousie


AUS Men's Cross Country:

  • Rookie of the Year:  Jacob Benoit, StFX
  • Student-Athlete Community Service Award:  Paul MacLellan, StFX
  • Bernie Chisholm Award for Coach of the Year:  Rich Lehman, Dalhousie



Jade Roberts, Memorial (2nd year – Twillingate, N.L.)

Jane Hergett, StFX (3rd year – Port Williams, N.S.)

Catherine Thompson, Dalhousie (5th year – Blenheim, Ont.)

Hannah Cormier, UNB (3rd year – Fredericton, N.B.)

Paige Chisholm, StFX (4th year – Port Williams, N.S.)

Emily Hamilton, Dalhousie (1st year – Halifax, N.S.)

Madalyn Higgins, Acadia (4th year – Halifax, N.S.)



Andrew Peverill, Saint Mary's (3rd year – Sackville, N.S.)

Paul MacLellan, StFX (5th year – Antigonish, N.S.)
Jacob Benoit, StFX (1st year – Windsor, N.S.)

Isaac Cull, UNB Reds (3rd year – Pubnico, N.S.)

Levi Moulton, Memorial (2nd year – Paradise, N.L.)

Jonathan Goodridge, Dalhousie (2nd year – St. John's, N.L.)

Hudson Grimshaw-Surette, Dalhousie (3rd year – Yarmouth, N.S.)